# Minutes of the DEPARTMENT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Meeting May 18, 2021

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m.

MOTION by Barbara Nath (Unit 20) and seconded by Sue Caswell (Unit 35) to dispense

with all opening ceremonies.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

## **ROLL CALL**

## PRESENT:

#### NATIONAL OFFICERS

National Executive Committee Member Penny Mazonna Alternate National Executive Committee Member Sue Diaz

#### **OFFICERS**

President Jane Larson 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Anarene Robinson 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President April Sinclair Secretary Barbara Nath Treasurer Diana Estrada

Sgt.-at-Arms Lori Fruhwirth

Chaplain Colleen Newman

Historian April Sinclair

### STANDING COMMITTEES

Alaska Girls State Lori Fruhwirth

Audit Sue Diaz

Children and Youth April Sinclair

Community Service Debbie Ervin

Constitution and ByLaws Sue Diaz

Distinguished Guests Penny Mazonna

History April Sinclair

Leadership Sue Caswell

Legislative Penny Mazonna

Membership Anarene Robinson

Poppy Marge Blankenship

Public Relations Beverly Eads

Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation April Sinclair

Minutes of the May 18, 2021
DEC Meeting Page 1 of 4

## **ROLL CALL (continued)**

## PRESENT:

**UNITS** 

Jack Henry Unit 1 Dorman H. Baker Unit 11 George H. Plumley Memorial Unit 20 Peters Creek Unit 33 Susitna Valley Unit 35 C. Russell Huber Unit 57

## PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Marge Blankenship Susan Caswell Sue Diaz Penny Mazonna Sue Waldhaus Lisa Williamson

## **EXCUSED**

# STANDING COMMITTEES

Americanism Kathy Moore

### PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Linda Schmitt

Barbe Wolkoff

### ABSENT:

## **OFFICERS**

Executive Committee Member Frances Bedel Executive Committee Member Zona Gregg

## STANDING COMMITTEES

Auxiliary Emergency Fund Zona Gregg Education and Scholarship Lisa Boyles Finance Debbie Lowndes Junior Activities Margaret Clausen-Grimm National Security Frances Bedel Past Presidents Parley Debbie Lowndes Public Relations Beverly Eads

Minutes of the May 18, 2021
DEC Meeting Page 2 of 4

## **ROLL CALL (continued)**

## ABSENT:

#### **UNITS**

Joseph T. Craig Unit 3

Seward Unit 5

Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6

Lynn Canal Unit 12

Sitka Unit 13

Matanuska Valley Unit 15

General Bucker Unit 16

Robert G. Blair Unit 17

Ninilchik Unit 18

Spenard Unit 28

Muldoon Unit 29

Con Miller Unit 30

Chappie James Unit 34

Gladys M. Heintz Memorial Unit 27

Peter Heyano Unit 442

### PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Ruth Brown	Betty Bumala	Laverne Kearns
Evelyn Oliver	June Haas	Lori FitzSimons
Betty Porter	Lavonne Collier	Eva Aulston
Jean Clayton	Etta Singleton	Carolyn Null
Wilma Stokes	Rehta Foster	Jean Shandy
Jill Pawson	Francisca Guilford	Lynn Bash
Davianty Foda	Chaman Chamatta	Dahhia Larundaa

Beverly Eads Sharon Cherrette Debbie Lowndes

## **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

There was no Unfinished Business to come before this meeting.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

Alaska Girls State Director Lori Fruhwirth explained that there were concerns with the ability to hold the 2021 Alaska Girls State. While at this time, there were enough applicants, many of those were from Ketchikan. Ketchikan is experiencing a rise in the number of Covid-19 cases. If the community was locked down before Alaska Girls State, or if applicants tested positive for Covid-19, we would not be able to hold the 2021 Alaska Girls State. The Board of Directors had approved adopting our applicants out to programs in other states. Lori has contacted a number of states and two of them (Nevada and Hawaii) had indicated the possibility of having the applicants attend their virtual Girls State.

Minutes of the May 18, 2021 DEC Meeting Page 3 of 4

It was reported that they will still be eligible to apply for the Samsung Scholarship, as well as Alaska's scholarships. In addition, they can be elected to Girls Nation.

**MOTION**: by Penny Mazonna (Unit 35) and seconded by Diana Estrada (Unit 35) to

approved adopting the Girls State applicants out to other states regardless of

location.

The applicants will not be flying to their adopted states, but will instead join their virtual meetings.

Alaska will staying be paying fees, however it is significantly less at approximately \$50 to \$150 per person. We will be saving approximately \$500 per person as we will have not airline travel costs.

Lisa Williamson (Unit 57) recommended that we make every attempt to have the adoptive state be within the Western Division.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the DEC, the meeting was adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Minutes of the May 18, 2021 DEC Meeting Page 4 of 4